The Mighty Willow

On September 4th, 2013, my husband and I welcomed our third child to the world. A beautiful girl we named Willow. At the time, we weren’t in love with the name. Rather, it was the only name on our list that hadn’t been crossed off at some point. Ok.. that’s not completely true. There were three other names. Princess Buttercup, Sally and Bella #2. Those were the names our other two kids came up with. I suppose we could have picked one of those.. but when the nurse asked us if we had a name for our new baby… I blurted out Willow. Sorry kids. Add it to the list of things I did to ruin your childhood. Anyhow.. back to Willow. Now that I know her.. her name seems too perfect. Afterall, a Willow tree is gentle but strong. Mighty but mellow.  Always bending… never breaking. Just like our Willow.

Shortly after being born, our Mighty Willow encountered her first storm. Doctors discovered she had several heart defects. And those holes.. those horrible holes.. were related to Down Syndrome. The news hit like a hurricane. While my husband and I fell on each other.. shaking.. our daughter stood strong… so strong that she spent only one day in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit). Within 3 days she was out of the hospital completely. We were told that Willow’s heart and low muscle tone would likely make it impossible for her to nurse… but…  it was love at first latch. From day one, Willow has weathered every chop of the ax. A devastating diagnosis, emergency heart surgery, tummy troubles…   the list goes on and on and on. And… our Willow is still standing. Which brings me to Willow’s middle name: Faith. Her roots, our strength, THE Amazing God.

While I plan to use this blog as an outlet for my emotions, I pray that anyone who reads it be blessed. Our God is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us. Just ask The Might Willow.

Leave a Reply

