The Comeback Kid

IMG_5875

I have a HORRIBLE memory. I’ve been this way for as long as I can remember.. which thanks to my bad memory could mean I’ve been this way for somewhere between 36 years and 36 minutes. But while my poor memory is usually a source of frustration.. I’ve found it to be a blessing when it comes to tracking Willow’s milestones. You know.. those moments that every parent longs to see. First smile.. first word.. first step.. The list goes on and on. With my first two children I knew all the milestones and when to look out for them. It might have something to do with the pile of baby books I kept stacked in the living room. Or maybe it’s because I was a new parent? I don’t know. I just remember that with each new month of age.. came a mental checklist of what to expect. And boy did I have fun checking things off those lists. But things are different with Willow. I still LOOOOOOVE watching her reach those milestones.. but for some reason I can’t remember the timeline for “ordinary” development. And that’s good.. because Willow isn’t ordinary. She’s extraordinary.

A few weeks ago Willow rolled over from her tummy to her back.. 5 times in a row. Our entire family was so excited when it happened. I started crying.. which made my two older kids start screaming.. which made my husband start doing some weird dance where he turned around in circles with his hands up in the air.. which made Willow’s eyes open as wide as they could go. I told you we were excited. Willow was just a little over 4 months old at the time.  Had you asked me if her rolling was “normal” for that age.. I wouldn’t have been able to answer. I COULDN’T REMEMBER! And truth be told.. I didn’t care. I was just so stinkin excited to see her roll! 5 times! Only 2 1/2 months after open heart surgery!!!! I later found out that rolling from tummy to back is expected around 4 months of age. Isn’t God amazing? But.. I thought that BEFORE I learned that little tidbit of information.

What’s next for Willow? I have no clue! I’m hoping she’ll someday learn to roll the opposite way.. from back to tummy. But.. once again.. I can’t remember when that’s supposed to happen.. and once again.. I don’t really care! Those crazy timelines get in the way of enjoying my daughter’s day to day accomplishments. And looking back.. I think I placed too much importance on those crazy timelines when it came to my other kid’s firsts. Why did I care so much about what was considered “normal?” I’m not raising normal kids. Trust me. And that’s a good thing!

Willow is rolling.. babbling.. smiling.. giggling.. reaching.. kicking.. eating… Isn’t that awesome??? I can’t wait to see what is next.. no matter when it comes! This week Willow’s occupational therapist told me that she’s never seen a baby bounce back from surgery as quickly as Willow. She called her a “miracle” and a “success story.” How’s that for a milestone? God is SO good. He has blessed me with three amazingly unique and extraordinary children and that’s something I will ALWAYS remember.

One thought on “The Comeback Kid

Leave a Reply

