Feed Me!!!

It’s no secret… Willow likes to eat. The proof is in the cheeks.

Hey! Why ya staring at my cheeks?
Hey! Why ya staring at my cheeks?

Shortly after she was born… we were told that Willow’s low muscle tone and weak heart would likely make it impossible to nurse her. Thank God that wasn’t the case. It was love at first latch for Willow. Like I said… the girl loves to eat. But lately I get a sense that momma’s milk just ain’t enough.

Whatcha eating mom?
Whatcha eating mom?

Willow turns 6 months old this week… so I figured it was time to introduce solids. Gulp. With my two older children… this was something I looked forward to! But sadly… with Willow… I found myself dreading it. Crazy right? Willow loooooooves food… she is a rockstar nurser… she barely ever spits up… she easily chugs down multiple medicines and is constantly proving that she can and will do anything put before her. Why would eating rice cereal be any different?

I wonder if I can eat that thing?
I wonder if I can eat that thing?

At just a few weeks of age… Willow was assigned a speech therapist. What for? Well… the main reason is to get Willow ready to speak someday… but the other reason is to assist with feeding issues. There are multiple reasons children with Down syndrome can have trouble eating… and while Willow has had no problems so far… I was told that introducing solids could make a few surface. Well… this weekend I decided to bite the bullet and introduce Willow to the yummy world of rice cereal. Here’s what happened:

What is this?
What is this? And why is the camera out?
Hey! This kinda tastes like milk.. but mushy. Gulp.
Hey! This kinda tastes like milk.. but mushy. Gulp.
Oh my goodness! That was good!
Oh my goodness! That was good!
I'm such a big girl! Gimme more!!!!
I’m such a big girl! Gimme more!!!!

As you can see… Willow took my fears and swallowed em’ right down. Silly mom. I guess that’s why I call her The Mighty Willow!

One thought on “Feed Me!!!

Leave a Reply

