Prayers & Praises

So… the MRI is scheduled and on the calendar. Wednesday, March 26th will be the big day. We humbly ask for your prayer. Based on some of the comments/questions I’ve had… I can see that my last post left a few of you confused. Obviously I’ve been out of the journalism business for awhile… so my writing is rusty. To be clear… the torticollis is not the concern. Atlantoaxial Instability (AAI) is. Feel free to google it. Torticollis CAN be a sign of AAI in children with Down syndrome… hence the MRI. From what I understand… doctors will attempt to see if there is a space between the neck vertebrae and also any nerve damage/issues. I write “attempt” because it’s hard to spot at this age. Most children with Down syndrome don’t get this test done until around age 3. Because Willow’s torticollis took a strange and dramatic turn a few weeks ago… her pediatrician wants the tests done now. If the tests show it’s just torticollis… Willow’s physical therapist will work to stretch her muscles and correct the problem. One of my friends told me that her son gets Botox shots for his torticollis. Maybe I can arrange a Buy One Get One deal and get Botox with Willow!!! Otherwise… if the tests show that Willow might have AAI… well… we’ll deal with it. What other choice is there? God’s got plans… we’re just along for the ride.

Another thing to keep in prayer is Willow’s nose. As I mentioned in an earlier post… it’s stuffy… all… the… time. This Friday she will be hooked up to some thingy that will record her oxygen levels while she sleeps. If things don’t look good… I believe she will be getting a camera put down her schnoz. Yup. She’s also got an appointment with a pediatric ENT (Ear/Nose/Throat) doctor at the end of April. I’m praying for answers… help… and sleep. Ahhhhhh… sleep. I miss you.

If nose cameras and Botox aren’t exciting enough… Willow’s finally rolling to her sides!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We’ve been working on this for what seems like forever. God bless her Early Intervention team and Willow’s determination. God is good. Can I get an Amen?

AMEN!
Willow’s cheer-leading team

And here’s another picture… just because it’s cute:

IMG_5982

Leave a Reply

