Summer

Time flies when you’re having fun… and we’re having fun. I can’t believe it’s already July! I have made several attempts to blog this summer… but every one of them has ended without an ending. I just don’t have the time to finish what I start! Crazy!!!!! I’m hoping today will be different…. hoping….

As I mentioned earlier… we are having fun. Summer is awesome! Especially with Willow. It’s just been so much fun experiencing this season through her eyes… the sights…. smells… the flavors. So far… she loves it all… camping… swimming… swinging… splashing in the pool… And so far… I love watching her love it! I can’t explain the feeling I get watching her absorb all that life has to offer. It’s a mixture of happiness… humbleness… and awe. How did I get so lucky?

Sometimes I get the feeling that people feel sorry for us. Not everyone. But some people feel it’s necessary to apologize to us upon learning that Willow has Down syndrome. Funny. Most days I feel like I should be the one apologizing. I’m sorry you don’t get to experience what I’m experiencing. You have no idea how blessed I am to be Willow’s mom… to be the recipient of endless smiles and snuggles… to get to celebrate all the hard work paying off when she reaches a new milestone… to have a constant reminder that every day is precious… every life is full of purpose. Don’t get me wrong… there are sucky parts to this journey… but most of those boil down to fear… fear of what’s ahead. Sickness? Another heart surgery? Bullying? It’s scary…. but I can honestly say… if given the chance… I wouldn’t change a thing. Life is good. Scratch that… life is GREAT.

Our pastor has been teaching us about faith this summer and I feel like God is speaking directly to me… through him. If you look at all the great people of the bible… you’ll see that what made them great was their faith. That’s it. They believed in God… His plan… His love… His promise. Every day Willow reminds me to have faith. God has carried her through so much in just 10 short months of life. He has worked miracles in her tiny body. He has proven faithful. I am humbled to have a front row seat to this truth… a daily reminder to keep the faith… stay the course. Once again I ask… How did I get so lucky?

I’m not trying to “nah nah nah boo boo” you all… I’m just trying to give you a glimpse of how I feel. Completely blessed. Like I said earlier… Summer is awesome.

Willow Faith
Willow Faith
Willowsand
Enjoying some sand
Sightseeing with brother and sissy
Sightseeing with brother and sissy
Watching brother and sissy play t-ball
Watching brother and sissy play t-ball
2 thoughts on “Summer

Leave a Reply

