Frozen

What happens when your daughter needs to learn how to stand for longer periods of time, but refuses to cooperate unless you play music videos from Disney’s Frozen? You play em’. And then you celebrate as you watch her stand, propped up against the couch, mesmerized by Elsa, Anna and Olaf, for 10 minutes. Then 13! Then 15!! Then 19!!! Then 25!!!! God bless Disney!!!!!

Hey, wait! This is theraputic?
Hey, wait! This is therapeutic?

While I had grand dreams of Willow learning to walk “In Summer,” she had different dreams. She’s spent the past few months perfecting her butt scooting and avoiding any sort of standing. If I attempted to prop her up, she’d pull an Olaf and melt to the ground. “Weight bearing is work, and summers are for fun!” That’s what I imagined Willow saying every time I made another attempt. Why do I only give birth to strong willed children???? I’ll tell ya why: Because I’m strong willed! And while my 23 month old daughter has beat me down, she hasn’t defeated me. Enter YouTube.

You think you're more strong willed than me?
You think you’re more strong willed than me?

Like her older brother and sister, Willow likes her screen time. So, encouraged by Willow’s physical therapist to do whatever I can to get her to stand more, I pulled out my phone. And guess what? “For The First Time In Forever” Willow is cooperating! Kinda….

When it comes to standing and weight bearing, Willow’s “Love Is An Open Door” as long as there are Frozen videos playing on the other side. The girl’s mind is “Frozen.” Seriously. I’ve tried Gigglebellies, Minions, even other Disney classics, and she wants nothing “Elsa” than her precious Anna. And that’s ok with me BECAUSE SHE’S FINALLY COOPERATING! At least 3 times a day Willow gets her screen time, I mean standing time in without complaint. And I can’t tell you how awesome that feels.

Do you wanna build a snowman, Willow?
Do you wanna build a snowman, Willow? “No.. I’m busy watching YouTube.”

And just this week, Willow’s PT armed me with another tool. Introducing “The Fixer Upper.”

The Fixer Upper
The Fixer Upper

Ok, I know the name doesn’t make sense. But, my head is full of Frozen songs and I’m hoping it’ll sound more appealing to Willow. Especially considering this stander looks like some sort of torture device.

This little contraption gives Willow time on her toes without fear of falling. The attractive (haha) velcro straps keep her upright and for the most part confidant. And while she’s only used it a handful of times so far, she doesn’t seem to mind it. The best part? I haven’t had to pull out my phone! She’s content just playing with me or her siblings.

Look! I'm multi-tasking! Physical therapy (standing), Occupational therapy (cup holding) and Speech therapy (straw sucking) all at the same time!
Look! I’m multi-tasking! Physical therapy (standing), Occupational therapy (cup holding) and Speech therapy (straw sucking) all at the same time!

Hey! Maybe The Fixer Upper is the key to thawing this girl’s Frozen heart!!! It’s time to see what this girl can do! To test the limits and break through. She’s free….

Really, Mom? You're jokes are getting lamer by the second. Just
Really, Mom? You’re jokes are getting lamer by the second. Just “Let It Go!”

Alright, I’m done. I swear.

One thought on “Frozen

  1. When I’m tired of standing….I’d like a fixer upper. Slick idea someone came up with…She’s quite the girl…

Leave a Reply

