To My Daughter On Her Birthday

Dearest Willow,

Happy Birthday Baby Girl! I cannot believe you are two years old!!! The thought of it makes my heart ache. Especially when I think back to the day you were born. If only I knew then, what I know now.

IMG_5566Tangled in tubes, wrapped with wire, you seemed so small, so fragile that first day. I was unable to see past my own fears. But now? Now, I know my Willow is mighty. Strong in any storm. Bendable, not breakable. Handcrafted by God.

IMG_5571

Back then, I was consumed and confused by the doctor’s diagnosis. Now, I realize Down syndrome is a part of you, not what defines you. While many view it as a weakness, I know it’s the key to your strength. It’s something extra to help you navigate through life. It gives you joy in a world of darkness. It gives you love for everyone you meet. Even those who may look down on you.

IMG_5596Heart defects, a hernia, sickness and a scary blood disorder plagued your first couple of years. But looking at you now, you wouldn’t know it.

IMG_6654Every trial brought me to my knees and shook my faith. But you? You stood firmly planted. How could I have been so weak while cradling something so strong?

IMG_5568Beautiful Willow, I do not know what the future holds, but I sure am excited to find out. If it’s anything like the past two years, I know there will many laughs…

…plenty of smiles

IMG_6242…and bucket loads of pride.

CAM01020It would be foolish to think the future will be without struggle. But today, on your second birthday, I am confident you’ve got what it takes to overcome. Roots in God, the will to live.

Happy Birthday, my littlest love!

WillowGiGi'sNow, let’s go show em’ that two doesn’t have to be so terrible!

Love, Mom

One thought on “To My Daughter On Her Birthday

  1. I am thankful to be a small part of YOUR beginning…..We will always have a bond and I treasure that part. Your smile lights up a room and my heart. Go get ’em girl….Love you loads….xxoo

Leave a Reply

