All I Want For Christmas

Dear Santa,

It’s me, Willow! Remember, I sat on your lap a few weeks ago? Sorry about the whole reaching for momma thing. You’re bigger than I remember and my brother kept saying that your beard looked suspicious. At least I didn’t cry!

IMG_6915

You’re probably wondering why I’m writing. Well, brother and sissy tell me you bring people stuff. All we’ve got to do is ask for it. I know I probably should have told you this in person, but as I mentioned earlier, I was a little nervous that night. I’m 2, after all. That’s gotta count for something, am I right?

Ok, back to why I’m writing. I’ve already got every toy on the planet. Mom claims they have “theraputic value” but I’m pretty sure I’m just spoiled. So, I’m not here to ask for any toys. No, I want something different. I keep hearing these songs talking about “peace on earth” and “good will toward men.” Well, that’s what I want! Can you do it?

Have I mentioned I have Down syndrome? I don’t know if that means anything to you, as you didn’t seem to notice the night I saw you, but, some people think my Ds makes me special and different. Personally, I have no clue what the big deal is, as I don’t feel any different. I mean, I like to play and have fun just like my friends, and I know a good toy when I see one. Speaking of toys, I know I said I didn’t need any more, but if you really want to get me something, I’m in to Mickey Mouse. That whole Clubhouse show is awesome. So, I’m thinking a Mickey doll and the new Minnie Kitchen set would look good under our tree. Could you also throw in a few Mickey bath toys? Thanks.

So, back to peace on earth. I heard on the radio in our van that people are killing each other. I have a hard time believing this is true, but if it is, certainly you can stop it. Right? Life is so much fun!! People are so much fun!! Maybe they need to meet me. I’ll show em’ how to live. Mom says I find joy in everything. Even cardboard boxes! They’re so much fun!!! And, tasty! Obviously, feeding therapy has done a lot for me.

Speaking of boxes. I thought of another toy I want. I know I said I didn’t want any, but I heard about your elves and I want to keep em’ in business. Legos. I know they’re technically a choking hazard but they look like so much fun!!! And, brother and sissy never let me play with theirs! I promise I won’t swallow them. I just want to chew on them a bit. I’m teething, for golly’s sake.

More than Legos, I really want your help with this whole good will toward men thing. See, there are a few kids in my brother’s class that I’m thinking don’t know about your naughty list. Brother says they use the R-word all the time, even though he’s told them it’s mean and offensive to people like me, who have Down syndrome. I don’t know why they don’t like me, as I’ve never met them before! Mom says you’ll probably give them coal for Christmas. I was hoping you could tell them how awesome I am and show them some good will and love. I’m sure that would be better than coal. Although, big brother says coal can be turned into diamonds! I think he’s just worried he’s on the naughty list.

Speaking of my brother. He wants me to tell you that IF he’s on the good list he wants a model train set. HO scale, with lights and sounds. He wanted me to add that there are a couple good ones on Amazon that only cost about $500. Mom and dad say “that’s outrageous, even for Santa.” What do you think?

Back to me. Personally, I think I’ve had outstanding behavior this year. I’ve also worked really hard during all my therapies, without complaint. Ok, there were a few times where I cried during speech, but I had good reason. My therapist tried to stick her hand in my mouth to do stretches. She needs to learn to respect my space! But, other than that, I’ve been awesome with a capital A. So, do you think you could give me what I’m asking for?

With peace on earth and good will toward men, you probably could do away with your naughty list. People would love each other, respect each other, and embrace each other no matter their differences. They’d speak life into each other, rather than hate. Happiness would pour from every heart. It would be like Christmas every day of the year. How could you say no to that?

Your newest and biggest fan,

Willow

IMG_6654

PS, I don’t mean any disrespect, but mom says Jesus is the reason for the season and that if we’d model ourselves after him, life would be grand. So, in the name of full disclosure, I’m forwarding this message on to him as well. Nothing but love.

PPS, If you can’t give me what I’m asking for, please send an Elsa doll and that Frozen castle I saw on tv the other day. Don’t forget that Mickey stuff I mentioned, and the Legos. I also want a Taylor Swift cd.

PPPS, My big sister wants an Easy Bake Oven.

PPPPS, If you get my sister an Easy Bake Oven, you might want to throw in a really good tooth brush, as my mom and dad say my sister has already cost them a small fortune at the dentist.

Leave a Reply

