A Golden Birthday Indeed

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine.

You make me happy when skies are grey.

You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you.

Please don’t take my sunshine away.

I sing those words to Willow every night before putting her to bed. It’s a routine that started shortly after she was born.

IMG_5566

At the time, I picked the song because I liked the tune. But now, it seems as if the song picked her. Like, it was meant to be. Willow is sunshine.

104

And today, this little ray of sunshine is celebrating her golden birthday. She’s 4 on the 4th.

I’d be lying if I said the past 4 years have been easy. In fact, the skies have been grey many times since Willow’s arrival. But, like the song goes, Willow makes us happy when skies are grey.

Willow makes us laugh during hard times.

106

Her smile literally warms our hearts.

034

 

Her hugs brings life when everyday struggles leave us feeling lifeless.

004

Willow is sunshine.

130

 

And today, this golden girl is being celebrated.

169

 


2 thoughts on “A Golden Birthday Indeed

  1. Happy Birthday to Willow!
    She makes me smile. She is sunshine.
    You are my sunshine has always been our son Coles song also. Last year at a cousins wedding, and much to our surprise, Cole and my sister sang it to the bride and groom! I had always wondered if the day would come. There he was, 13 years old and singing it out loud and clear. I cried. I was so happy.
    He makes me happy.
    He is my sunshine!

    1. Oh my goodness, Mary! I literally just got back from the bank and am just now reading your comment! It’s been such a busy day I didn’t see it until now! At the bank you mentioned the blanket with that song but now I really see how special that song is to you! How fun is that? Reading your words about Cole singing it at the wedding brought tears to my own eyes, so I can understand why it brought you to tears!!!! Thank you for sharing. .. and I am so so so glad to have met you! !!!!!

Leave a comment